GP Captain DR Choudhary wins Presidents Cup Golf


Buzzing Chandigarh April,15(Poonam) The President Day Golf Cup was played at the Picturesque Panchkula Golf Club on 13th & 14th April. The players played in five categories in extremely windy and tough conditions. A total of 348 players participated over two days. GP Captain DR Choudhary won the overall tournament with a gross score of 72. In the 0-9 handicap category Brig. GJ Singh (gross 75) was the champion followed closely by MP Singh (gross 76) at the runners-up position.In the 10-14 handicap category Vikram Bhagwan (gross 73) took pole position leaving Subhash Goel (gross 78) in the runners-up position. Dr. Tejinder Rana (gross 77) won in the 15-18 handicap category while Dr. RK Talwar (gross 78) finished runners-up in the same category. In the Senior Citizen category HMS Bedi (nett 28) was first and Col. AN Sharma (nett 29) finished second. The ladies category had a total of 16 participants. Mrs. Sonia Singh (nett 68) won the trophy and Mrs. Shalini Sheron (nett 70) finished runners-up in the ladies category. Lt Gen KJ Singh won the closest-to-pin contest at just 4 feet 9 inches, JS Matharu won the straightest drive which was perfectly on the line, Vijay Kumar won the longest drive by hitting a surprisingly long ball of 344 yards. Depinder Singh Dhesi, IAS, Chief Secretary of Haryana gave away the prizes to the winners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here